TEER Spirit Awards Gala

June 18, 2014

6:00 Reception 7:00 Dinner & Award Cermony


Honorary Co-Chairs:

Phylicia RashadSherry B. BronfmanMichele Shay

Soffiyah Elijah⎟Kevin Powell

TEER Spirit Awards


  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle


Celebrating 46 Years in the Harlem Community

TEER Spirit Awards Gala

Founder’s Day  


 June 18, 2014



The Sixth Annual TEER Spirit Awards honors and recognizes individuals within the community that exemplify the attributes of three pioneers within National Black Theatre’s history: Dr. Barbara Ann Teer, NBT’s Founding Visionary, Adetunde Samuel, a charismatic producer who headed NBT’s award winning Theatre Arts Program, and Fredrica L. Teer, an institution builder who conceived and organized the foundation that made the idea of National Black Theatre a reality. Outside of these awards, National Black Theatre honors a Pioneer in the field of Black Theatre and gives Special Recognition to individuals for outstanding contributions to their community.  The Teer Spirit Awards was inaugurated in 2008 after the passing of Dr. Barbara Ann Teer, the founder of the National Black Theatre. June 18th is the birth date of Dr. Barbara Ann Teer and is called Founder’s Day.

Dr. Barbara Ann Teer's

National Black Theatre
Institute of Action Arts